Solitary by Travis Thrasher

Young Adult Genre400 pages
Published in 2010 by David C. Cook

Goodreads Summary:

This first book in the Solitary Tales suspense series from Travis Thrasher reminds teen readers that darkness cloaks both danger and redemption. When Chris Buckley moves to Solitary, North Carolina, he faces the reality of his parents’ divorce, a school full of nameless faces-and the mysterious Jocelyn Evans. Chris soon learns that Jocelyn and her town have deep-and terrifying-secrets. As he slowly begins to understand the horror, the question becomes whether he can save Jocelyn in time. Solitary will take readers from the cold halls of high school to the dark rooms of an abandoned cabin-and remind us of what it means to believe in what you cannot see.In his debut novel for teens, Travis Thrasher furthers his reputation of having the writing ability to scare the wits out of his audience while challenging them.

Review:

I’ve been putting off reading this book for well over two years. I really can’t tell you why, though. I’ve read the inner flap summary so many times at my library, and I always just put it back on the shelf. But something in me finally decided to just give it a go. I am so NOT disappointed. Once I started it, I couldn’t put it down.

The town, Solitary, is beyond mysterious. Everyone is so secretive and having everyone tell Chris he shouldn’t be there was confusing. The entire time I was reading, I was trying to figure out what was going on; why is everyone so tense? At first I thought the mystery evolved only around Jocelyn, but it’s everyone in town.

Solitary is not just a young adult book; it’s a suspenseful thriller. I was reading the book mostly at night, so I was really on edge. I get jumpy easily, and this book had me jumping at every little creak in my apartment. It’s not really scary or gory by any means, but the story has so many unknowns, and that is what makes the reader anxious.

I felt really bad for Chris because Jocelyn kept giving him mixed signals. It was like he was a rag doll being whipped around. When she finally gets a grip and gives into her feelings, it seems like everything will be okay.

I don’t want to post a spoiler, so all I will say is: I hated the ending. The book was great, but the ending just killed me. I was almost in tears. I mean, this was book one of four! How could Thrasher end the book like that? Sorry. If you haven’t read the book yet, please don’t ignore this book like I did. It really is worth it. If you have read it, do you agree? I just can’t get past this feeling. I plan on picking up the second book from the library on Wednesday. A review on that should be up in a week or so.

Rating: 3.8/5

3 thoughts on “Solitary by Travis Thrasher

  1. Pingback: Gravestone by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Temptation by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

  3. Pingback: Hurt by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

Leave a Reply

