Gravestone by Travis Thrasher

Young Adult Genre421 pages
Published in 2011 by David C. Cook

Goodreads Summary:

In the latest book in the four-book Solitary Tales, Travis Thrasher once again plunges young adult readers into the dark mysteries of Solitary, North Carolina. At first, Chris Buckley was simply warned. And watched. But as Chris unravels the haunting riddles of quiet Solitary, he finds that much more than the life of a town is at stake. Whether facing a pastor with a house full of skeletons or a cousin he never knew existed, Chris is forced to choose between light and darkness, life and nightmarish death. In this shocking sequel to Solitary, Travis Thrasher masterfully weaves a tale of one high school student thrown into a battle over a town, a secret-and ultimately his own soul.

Review:

This review will be pretty short.

I did not like this book… at all. I had high hopes, because I really enjoyed the first book, Solitary. (My review can be found here: Solitary by Travis Thrasher) But there was just something about this one that just didn’t really work for me. It didn’t grab my attention as much.

I often found myself bored. I had to stop reading quite a lot just so I could take a break and try to regain interest in it.

It still had a bit of the suspense that Solitary had, but it wasn’t as good as I had hoped for. My favorite parts included a new character, Iris. She was so mysterious and I loved the way she approached religion when talking to Chris. I’m not religious AT ALL, but I enjoyed reading those parts. It made me think; it made me feel.

I really can’t think of much else to say. Overall, I was quite disappointed in this book. But I did continue the series! I will have a review of the third book, Temptation, up shortly.

Rating:2.3/5

2 thoughts on “Gravestone by Travis Thrasher

  1. Pingback: Temptation by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Hurt by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

Leave a Reply

