Temptation by Travis Thrasher

Young Adult Genre432 pages
Published in 2012 by David C. Cook

Goodreads Summary:

The third book in the Solitary Tales series for young adults, Temptation follows the soul-wrenching twists of Chris Buckley’s journey as he heads deeper into a darkness that threatens all he loves best.
As a reluctant student at Harrington High’s summer school, Chris meets a fun-loving senior girl who offers a welcome diversion from Chris’s past. Soon Chris no longer searches for the truth about the town of Solitary. He no longer tries to pierce its shadows. He no longer questions his role in its mysteries. He makes a new choice: he runs. What he doesn’t realize is that he’s running the wrong way—and is very close to being beyond any choices at all.

Review:

Temptation is the third book in The Solitary Tales. If you read my review for the second book, Gravestone, then you will know that I was not a fan. It left me extremely disappointed. So when I picked up this book, I was very wary.

Thankfully, I had nothing to be worried about. I was pleasantly surprised by how the story seemed to up the ante compared to the previous book. From the very beginning, I was hooked. It was like, “Oh hey, this is what I remember Solitary being like. Yeah, here’s the suspense I remember!”

I felt bad for Chris because he just does not have the best luck with girls. He really doesn’t. As I was reading, I would shake my head at his stupid comments and think back to when I was a teenage girl dealing with clueless boys.

Thrasher did a really good job building his characters. He made you love the characters you’re meant to love and hate the characters that you’re meant to hate. Reading anything to do with Marsh or Staunch made my blood boil.

Towards the end of the book, we learn some truths about certain characters; and it showed how messed up the town and people of Solitary truly is. Just when you think it can’t get any worse, Thrasher proves you wrong.

This was a huge improvement from Gravestone, in my opinion. I’m really glad I did not give up on this series. Look for my review on the next and final book in The Solitary Tales: Hurt.

Rating: 3.5/5

Here are my reviews for the first two books: Solitary by Travis Thrasher and Gravestone by Travis Thrasher

One thought on “Temptation by Travis Thrasher

  1. Pingback: Hurt by Travis Thrasher | The Nerdy Bookworm

Leave a Reply

