Hurt by Travis Thrasher

Young Adult Genre496 pages
Published in 2013 by David C. Cook

Goodreads Summary:

His Rebellion Will Soon Turn to Hope When Chris Buckley first encountered the mysteries of creepy Solitary, North Carolina, he had little idea how far he would fall into the town’s shadows. After losing the love of his life, Chris tried to do things his way. He hunted answers. Then he gave up trying to find them. But now Chris comes back to Solitary knowing there’s a purpose for his being there. As he watches his place in a twisted and evil bloodline become clear, Chris waits for the last battle—and wonders who will be left when he finally makes his stand. The fourth and final book in the Solitary Tales shines light into deep darkness as Chris’s journey to Solitary comes to a dramatic close.

Review:

Let’s do a minor recap: I have now read all four books in The Solitary Tales. Solitary=Loved it, minus the ending due to feels. Gravestone= Disappointed. Temptation= Really enjoyed. Now onto Hurt, the final book in the series. Get ready for another wishy-washy review people!

I enjoyed Hurt a lot more than Gravestone, BUT!, I was left scratching my head at the end. I liked watching Chris try to take control of his life and future. He’s a lovable character and I really hated how his luck with girls is pretty much nonexistent, so I was really rooting for him and his girlfriend Kelsey. Of course, the bad guys in Solitary don’t want them together, and they don’t care about hurting whoever gets in the way of what they think is Chris’s destiny.

As I mentioned in my review of Gravestone, I am not religious in any way. Because of this, it was sometimes hard reading the religious bits throughout the book. For the most part, I set aside my beliefs, or lack of actually, and just tried to savor the story. I like to think I’m pretty open minded, so I did find some of it pretty interesting. I certainly found it intriguing watching Chris evolve from an angsty teenager who denied the existence of God, to an almost adult who relies on religion to help him get through challenging times.

It had the same suspenseful, “what the hell is happening” moments, which I loved about this series. But I felt so confused throughout the series; I was hoping for some closure or answers in the final book. Honestly I finished Hurt with more questions than before. I did not understand a damn thing that happened. I love the idea of the series, even the religious parts don’t bother me, but I’m not sure the execution was right. Maybe I missed something. Maybe I have to read the series again to understand. Which I would be willing to do, later down the road.

I don’t know what else I can say about this book or series. I was left completely confused. Don’t get me wrong, there was A LOT that I really liked. But I feel like I’m missing a big point in this last book, so I’m not sure how to rate it. I guess I’ll just give it a relatively middle ground rating, because I’m being tugged between “liked” and “disliked”.

You can find my reviews for the previous three books here: Solitary by Travis ThrasherGravestone by Travis Thrasher and Temptation by Travis Thrasher

Rating: 2.8/5

Leave a Reply

