Unblemished by Sara Ella

Young Adult Genre352 pages
Published in 2016 by Thomas Nelson/HarperCollins

Goodreads Summary:

Eliyana has always recoiled from her own reflection in the mirror. But what if that were only one Reflection—one world? What if another world existed where her blemish could become her strength?

Eliyana is used to the shadows. With a hideous birthmark covering half her face, she just hopes to graduate high school unscathed. That is, until Joshua hops a fence and changes her perspective. No one, aside from her mother, has ever treated her as normal. Maybe even beautiful. Because of Joshua, Eliyana finally begins to believe she could be loved.

But one night her mother doesn’t come home, and that’s when everything gets weird.

Now Joshua is her new, and rather reluctant, legal Guardian. Add a hooded stalker and a Central Park battle to the mix and you’ve gone from weird to otherworldly.

Eliyana soon finds herself in a world much larger and more complicated than she’s ever known. A world enslaved by a powerful and vile man. And Eliyana holds the answer to defeating him. How can an ordinary girl, a blemished girl, become a savior when she can’t even save herself?

Review:

Let me start off by saying that the summary reeled me in, but once I read the book, I realized the summary wasn’t very good. BUT! The book was worth it.

I really enjoyed reading Unblemished. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I was not disappointed. I genuinely liked El’s character. She’s relatable in a way that made me like her, and worry about her. She has insecurities, and fears just like any other person. As you read through the book, her character keeps on building up, learning new things about herself every chapter.

You also get to meet two boys, Joshua and Ky, who are VERY different; but I fell for them both. I think those differences are what draws the reader to both characters. Joshua is reserved, and kind of quiet. He’s loyal to his job as a Guardian, and it seems as though nothing will distract him from his duty. Whereas Ky is stubborn, a bit reckless and more rough around the edges. He doesn’t care about breaking rules, but he also has a soft side.

In this book you learn about Callings which are special abilities some people have. They are attained before a persons 18th birthday. I can’t remember them all, due to the fact that at times I felt overwhelmed by all the information given throughout the book. Oddly enough, many people don’t fully understand the Callings nor a lot of other things happening in their world.

As much as I liked reading Unblemished, I had some trouble getting through some parts, especially towards the end. As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, there was a lot of information given and I had difficulty understanding. I had to reread a lot of parts to try to follow what was going on. In the end, I think I understand enough.

Thankfully for me, since I liked the book and want more, I found out this is the first book in a trilogy. The second book will be out July 11th; so only in a couple weeks! The third book is expected May of next year. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read fantasy or contemporary fantasy. It’s worth a shot!

Rating: 3.2/5

Leave a Reply

